Electricity exports from Ukraine grew by 4.9% in 2019

Despite the growth of imports by 88 times according to last year’s results.

Last year, Ukraine exported a total of 6,469.3 thousand MWh of electricity to neighboring countries – Hungary, Poland, Moldova, Romania and Slovakia, which is 4.9% more than in 2018.

Electricity supplies to Romania increased most significantly – by almost 11 times, to 402.8 thousand MWh and to a lesser extent, to Hungary – by 9.3%, up to 3 927.6 thousand MWh.

At the same time, current exports to Poland, Slovakia and Moldova declined. In particular, the Moldovan electricity grid operator reduced purchases of Ukrainian electricity last year by 32.6% to 644 thousand MWh. In turn, Polish consumers received by 2.4% less electricity from Ukraine in 2019 than in 2018 – 1,376.8 thousand MWh.

In 2019, Slovakia imported 118 thousand MWh of Ukrainian electricity, or 29.6% less than a year earlier. Electricity is exported from Ukraine from Burshtyn TPP energy island, located in part of the territories of Zakarpattia, Lviv and Ivano-Frankivsk regions.

Electricity imports from Hungary, Slovakia and Romania also enter the system of Burshtyn energy island, which at some points experiences a lack of capacity due to high volumes of exports and a reduction in production at thermal power plants. In particular, in December, imports to Ukraine from these three countries amounted to 425 thousand MWh, or 14.9% more than in November.

Meanwhile, electricity is imported into Ukraine from Belarus and Russia into the Integrated Power System (IPS), which is located throughout the rest of the country, with the exception of Burshtyn energy island. These deliveries lend themselves to the most severe criticism, since the cost of Russian electricity is much lower than Ukrainian. Moreover, this is perceived as a weakening of Ukrainian energy independence from Russia in the context of the ongoing aggression of a neighboring country in eastern Ukraine and in Crimea.

On the other hand, according to head of the National Energy and Utilities Regulatory Commission Valerii Tarasyuk, the import of electricity in volumes not exceeding 2-3% in the overall balance of the market develops competition on the market, leads to lower prices and promotes more transparent pricing.

At the end of December, the Ukrainian president signed a law restricting the supply of electricity from Russia, which, however, can be resumed by decision of the Cabinet of Ministers. As a result, electricity imports from Russia and Belarus in December decreased to a total of 74.5 thousand MWh from 290.4 thousand MWh in November. Since January 8, current imports from these two neighboring countries have resumed, but in much smaller volumes than in November.

In total, in 2019, electricity imports to Ukraine from Hungary, Slovakia, Belarus, Romania and Russia grew by 88 times compared to the previous year, to 2 698.6 thousand MWh. In particular, in 2018, imports for commercial purposes were completely absent and were carried out only at the level of flows from Russia and Belarus, amounting to 30.7 thousand MWh by the end of the year.

In addition, according to Kosatka.Media, as of early January, more than 50 Ukrainian counterparties (importers, traders and consumers), following last year’s preliminary negotiations, signed Memorandums with the Belarusian side on possible future purchases of electricity from Belarus’s nuclear power plant, which should be launched in first quarter of this year.

The IPS of Ukraine is divided into two parts. The main part of the IPS of Ukraine works in parallel with the energy connection of the CIS and Baltic countries, and the other, Burshtyn TPP Island, is part of the ENTSO-E continental power system association.

Ukrenergo transfers electric energy through interstate power lines in the following areas:

  • from Burshtyn TPP to Hungary, Slovakia, Romania.

The maximum permissible export capacity is up to 650 MW.

  • “Directional transmission” on 220 kV transmission lines Dobrotvorska TPP – Zamosc (Poland)

The maximum permissible export capacity is up to 235 MW.

  • The Moldovan energy system

The maximum capacity of the flow between the IPS of Ukraine and power system of Moldova is up to 700 MW, but may be limited to zero.

  • Republic of Belarus

The maximum capacity of the flow between the IPS of Ukraine and power system of Belarus is up to 900 MW.

  • Russian Federation

The maximum flow rate between the IPS of Ukraine and power system of Russia is up to 3,000 MW.

Tags: The Cabinet of Ministers, electricity, NEURC, Ukrenergo, ETL, RF, electricity market, export, import, The Verkhovna Rada

Read also

Electricity production in Ukraine: renewables showed a significant increase
New electricity market continues to grow
Electricity imports to Ukraine has reached 81% of exports since the launching of the market

Экспорт электроэнергии из Украины вырос в 2019 году на 4,9%

Несмотря на рост импорта в 88 раз по итогам прошлого года

Украина экспортировала в прошлом году в соседние страны — Венгрию, Польшу, Молдову, Румынию и Словакию суммарно 6 469,3 тыс. МВт*час электроэнергии (э/э), что на 4,9% больше, чем в 2018 году.

Наиболее значительно возросли поставки электричества в Румынию — почти в 11 раз, до 402,8 тыс. МВт*час  и в меньшей степени, в Венгрию — на 9,3%, до 3 927,6 тыс. МВт*час.

В то же время экспорт тока в Польшу, Словакию и Молдову сократился. В частности, молдавский оператор электросетей уменьшил закупки украинской э/э в прошлом году на 32,6% до 644 тыс. МВт*час. В свою очередь, польские потребители получили в 2019 году на 2,4% меньше э/э из Украины, чем в 2018 году — 1 376,8 тыс. МВт*час.

Словакия импортировала в 2019 году 118 тыс. МВт*час украинской э/э, или на 29,6% меньше, чем годом ранее. Экспорт э/э из Украины осуществляется из энергоострова Бурштынской ТЭС, расположенного на части территорий Закарпатской, Львовской и Ивано-Франковской областей.

Импорт э/э из Венгрии, Словакии и Румынии также поступает в систему Бурштынского энергоострова, который в определенные моменты испытывает нехватку мощности в связи с высокими объемами экспорта и сокращением производства на ТЭС. В частности, в декабре импорт в Украину из этих трех стран составил 425 тыс. МВт*час, или на 14,9% больше, чем в ноябре.

Между тем, импорт э/э в Украину из Беларуси и России осуществляется в объединенную энергосистему (ОЭС), которая расположена на всей остальной территории страны, за исключением Бурштынского энергоострова. Эти поставки поддаются наиболее острой критике, поскольку себестоимость российской э/э значительно ниже, чем украинской. К тому же, это воспринимается как ослабление украинской энергетической независимости от России в условиях не прекращающейся агрессии соседней страны на востоке Украины и в Крыму.

С другой стороны, по мнению главы НКРЭКУ Валерия Тарасюка, импорт э/э в объемах, не превышающих 2-3% в общем балансе рынка, развивает конкуренцию на рынке, ведет к снижению цен и способствует более прозрачному ценообразованию.

В конце декабря украинский президент подписал закон об ограничении поставок э/э из России, которые, впрочем, могут быть возобновлены по решению Кабинета министров.

В результате импорт э/э из России и Беларуси в декабре суммарно уменьшился до 74,5 тыс. МВт*час с 290,4 тыс. МВт*час в ноябре. С 8 января импорт тока из этих двух соседних стран возобновился, но в гораздо меньших объемах, чем был в ноябре.

Суммарно за 2019 год импорт э/э в Украину из Венгрии, Словакии, Беларуси, Румынии и России вырос в 88 раз по сравнению с предыдущим годом, до 2 698,6 тыс. МВт*час (см. инфографику). В частности, в 2018 году импорт в коммерческих целях полностью отсутствовал и осуществлялся только на уровне перетоков из России и Беларуси, составив по итогам года 30,7 тыс. МВт*час.

Кроме того, по данным Kosatka.Media по состоянию на начало января более 50 украинских контрагентов (импортеров, трейдеров и потребителей) по итогам прошлогодних предварительных переговоров подписали Меморандумы с белорусской стороной о возможных будущих закупках э/э производства Беларусской АЭС, запуск которой должен состояться в первом квартале текущего года.

ОЭС Украины разделена на две части. Основная часть ОЭС Украины работает параллельно с энергообъединением стран СНГ и Балтии, а другая - «Остров Бурштынская ТЭС» - в составе объединения электроэнергетических систем континентальной Европы ENTSO-E.

«Укрэнерго» осуществляет передачу электроэнергии межгосударственными ЛЭП по следующим направлениям:

• с «Острова Бурштынской ТЭС» в Венгрию, Словакию, Румынию.

Величина мощности максимального допустимого экспорта - до 650 МВт.

- «Направленная передача» по ЛЭП 220кВ Добротворская ТЭС - Замость (Польша)

Величина мощности максимального допустимого экспорта - до 235 МВт.

- Молдавская энергосистема

Максимальная величина перетока между ОЭС Украины и ЕС Молдовы - до 700 МВт, но может ограничиваться к нулю.

• Республика Беларусь

Максимальная величина перетока между ОЭС Украины и ОЭС Беларуси - до 900 МВт.

• Российская Федерация

Максимальная величина перетока между ОЭС Украины и ЕЭС России - до 3000 МВт.

Тэги: Кабмин, электроэнергия, НКРЭКУ, Укрэнерго, ЛЭП, РФ, рынок электроэнергии, экспорт, импорт, Верховная Рада

Читайте также

Ценовые индексы работы РСВ по ОЭС Украины в апреле
Как менялись цены на электроэнергию в Европе за последние 5 лет
В марте цены на электроэнергию на РСВ выросли, объемы – снизились