Global air emissions have reached a record high

In 2018, according to BP, global carbon emissions have reached its maximum for the last 7 years. As it is reported by the source, electricity demand is continuously growing, and at the same time, the desire of countries to contain climate change lags behind the required pace.

Key consumers are Asian countries. Due to the results of 2018, Asia consumed twice more electricity than North America. To demonstrate the scale of consumption, China, India and the United States are responsible for two-thirds of the energy consumption growth in 2018 (which was 2.9%). 

As Bloomberg noted, the result of such events and disappointing trends, there is an urgent need to contain the global temperature increase. Since the beginning of the industrial revolution, this figure has increased by 1 degree Celsius, and according to forecasts, the temperature may double by the end of the century. This climate change rate is the fastest since the end of the last ice age (about 10 000 years ago).

Despite the Paris Agreement and other agreements on reducing emissions to the atmosphere in order to reduce global temperature, electricity production from fossil sources is increasing. Coal mining and consumption, according to BP, is developing at the fastest pace in the last 5 years. At the same time, the share of renewable sources in electricity consumption by all countries increased by 15% in 2018, compared to the previous year.

 

Tags: coal mining

Read also

Electricity trading in the "day-ahead" market
The selling price of electricity into WEM in May 2019
NPPs' contribution to the European economy

Глобальные выбросы в атмосферу достигли рекорда

В 2018 году, по данным BP, глобальные выбросы углеродов достигли своего максимума за последние 7 лет. Как сообщает источник, спрос на энергию беспрерывно растёт, при этом стремление стран в области сдерживания изменений климата отстаёт от необходимых темпов.

Ключевыми потребителями энергии на мировой карте являются азиатские страны. По итогам 2018 года страны Азии потребили вдвое больше энергии, чем Северная Америка. Для демонстрации масштабов потребления, Китай, Индия и США ответственны за две трети роста потребления энергии в 2018 году (который составил 2.9%).

Как отметили в Bloomberg, в результате таких событий и неутешительных тенденций, существует острая потребность в сдерживании глобального повышения температуры. С начала промышленной революции этот показатель вырос на 1 градус по Цельсию, и согласно прогнозов температура к концу столетия должна удвоиться. Этот темп изменения климата является самым быстрым с конца последнего ледникового периода (около 10 000 лет назад).

Несмотря на Парижское соглашение и другие договоренности о снижении выбросов в атмосферу с целью снизить глобальную температуру, генерация электроэнергии из ископаемых источников увеличивается. Добыча и потребление угля по данным ВР развивается наиболее быстрыми темпами за последние 5 лет. В тоже время, доля возобновляемых источников в потреблении электроэнергии всеми странами выросло на 15% в 2018 году, в сравнении с предыдущим годом.

 

Тэги: угольная промышленность

Читайте также

Цена продажи электроэнергии в ОРЕ в мае 2019
Вклад атомных электростанций в экономику Европы
Цена продажи электроэнергии в ОРЕ в апреле 2019