Electricity imports to Ukraine has reached 81% of exports since the launching of the market

The share of imports amounted to 38% of the level of exports for 11 months of the year

The Ukrainian power system began importing electricity in significant volumes since July, when the country opened a free market for this energy resource and supplies from other countries became possible.

During the first six months of 2019, import of electricity in all directions was zero, and in July, energy supplies from neighboring countries – Slovakia, Hungary and Belarus – began immediately.

In October, the integrated power system of Ukraine also began to receive electricity from Russia, around which many javelines were broken by opponents and supporters of such imports. As a result, the Parliament and the President imposed restrictions on the import of electricity from Russia. In total, the share of electricity imports in July-November amounted to 81% of the energy that Ukraine exported over the same period. And for 11 months of the year, the share of imports from neighboring countries amounted to 38% of the total level of exports to all countries.

Objectively, wholesale prices for electricity in Russia are lower than in Ukraine, as the cost of electricity production at the generating enterprises of the aggressor country is much lower. Russia itself is one of the world leaders in the mining and export of coal, the prices of which for the Russian market are formed by subtracting the cost of logistics from world centers of pricing and trade (in the ports of Russia, the Baltic countries and North-West Europe) by the netback method to the corresponding railway stations inside Russia where thermal power plants are located (TPPs or state district power stations, as they are called in Russia).

In addition, Russia itself produces nuclear fuel, which sells to Ukraine more expensive than for its nuclear power plants. In addition, the prices for residual oil in Russia, which is also used by local energy, are significantly lower than world and European. This is because the cost of logistics is deducted from international prices by means of a netback to Russian oil refineries, and the cost of delivery to heat generation enterprises is added. The margin of the domestic market (margin of refineries for fuel oil for domestic consumers) is usually small compared to the net netback to refineries.

But to deliver Russian electricity to the border with Ukraine, a Russian exporter needs to pay a significant amount for the transfer, which may cover the difference in production costs.

Electricity imports from Belarus were higher than from Russia in October-November, and it began immediately in July (see infographic). In addition, from the very first months of the market launching, import of electricity from Slovakia began, and from October deliveries from Hungary increased significantly.

Electricity supplies from Slovakia and Hungary are carried out at Burshtyn TPP island and are consumed on the Ukrainian market. At the same time, simultaneously with Burshtyn TPP Island, Ukraine exports electricity to neighboring countries: Hungary, Poland and Slovakia. With the launch of the free electricity market, exports to Slovakia minimized and came down to the level of overflows; at the same time, export volumes to Hungary changed slightly.

In addition, in October-November, Ukraine significantly increased electricity exports to Romania (see infographic). At the same time, electricity was exported to Moldova in approximately equal volumes over 11 months.

The geographical location and the presence of powerful interstate power transmission lines of the IPS of Ukraine allows for a significant exchange of electricity with the power systems of the countries of the European Union (Hungary, Slovakia, Poland and Romania) and the energy systems of the CIS countries (Russia, Belarus, Moldova).

Connection with the power systems of other countries is carried out through the Ukrenergo’s interstate power transmission lines. This ensures a mutually beneficial exchange of electricity, improves the reliability of energy supply to consumers and the integration of electricity markets of different countries.

The IPS of Ukraine is divided into two parts. The main part of the IPS of Ukraine works in parallel with the energy association of the CIS and Baltic countries, and the other, Burshtyn TPP Island, is part of the ENTSO-E association of continental European power systems.

Ukrenergo transfers electricity to interstate power lines in the following areas:

• from Burshtyn TPP Island to Hungary, Slovakia, Romania.

The maximum permissible export capacity is up to 650 MW.

- “Directional transmission” on 220 kV transmission lines Dobrotvorska TPP - Zamosc (Poland)

The maximum permissible export capacity is up to 235 MW.

- Moldavian power system

The maximum flow between Ukraine and  Moldova is up to 700 MW, but may be limited to zero.

• Republic of Belarus

The maximum flow rate between Ukraine and Belarus is up to 900 MW.

• Russian Federation

The maximum flow between Ukraine and Russia is up to 3,000 MW.

Tags: electricity, Ukrenergo, electricity market, export, import

Read also

Trading volumes are growing on the Ukrainian energy market
Electricity generation and consumpsion structures in Ukraine (January-October 2019)
Key performance indicators of the "day-ahead" market

Импорт электроэнергии в Украину достиг 81% от экспорта с момента открытия рынка

За 11 месяцев уходящего года доля импорта составила 38% от уровня экспорта

Украинская энергосистема приступила к импорту электроэнергии в существенных объемах с июля, когда страна открыла свободный рынок этого энергоресурса и стали возможными поставки из других стран.

В течение первых шести месяцев 2019 года импорт э/э по всем направлениям был нулевым, а с июля сразу же начались поставки энергоресурса из смежных стран — Словакии, Венгрии и Беларуси.

В октябре объединенная энергосистема Украины также начала получать э/э из России, вокруг чего много копий сломали противники и сторонники такого импорта. В результате закончилось тем, что власти Украины ввели ограничения на импорт э/э из России. Суммарно доля импорта э/э в июле-ноябре составила 81% от объемов энергии, которые Украина экспортировала за тот же период времени. А за 11 месяцев уходящего года доля импорта из сопредельных стран составила 38% от общего уровня экспорта во все страны.

Объективно, оптовые цены на электроэнергию в России ниже, чем в Украине, поскольку себестоимость производства э/э на генерирующих предприятиях страны-агрессора значительно меньше. Россия сама является одним из мировых лидеров в добыче и экспорте угля, цены на который для российского рынка формируются путем вычитания стоимости логистики от мировых центров ценообразования и торговли (в портах России, стран Балтии и стран Северо-Западной Европы) методом обратного отсчета до соответствующих железнодорожных станций внутри России, где расположены тепловые электростанции (ТЭС или ГРЭС, как они называются в России).

Кроме того, Россия сама производит ядерное топливо, которое продает Украине дороже, чем для своих АЭС. Помимо этого, цены на топочный мазут в России, который также используют местные энергетики, существенно ниже мировых и европейских. Так происходит потому, что от международных цен вычитается стоимость логистики путем обратного отсчета (netback) до российских нефтеперерабатывающих заводов (НПЗ), а прибавляется стоимость доставки до предприятий тепловой генерации. Маржа внутреннего рынка (наценка НПЗ на мазут для внутренних потребителей), как правило, небольшая в сравнении с чистым нетбэком до НПЗ.

Но для доставки российской э/э до границы с Украиной российскому экспортеру нужно заплатить значительную сумму за передачу, что может покрывать разницу в себестоимости производства.

Импорт э/э из Беларуси был выше, чем из России в октябре-ноябре, и начался он сразу же в июле (см. инфографику). Кроме того, с самых первых месяцев открытия рынка начался импорт электричества из Словакии, а с октября существенно возросли поставки из Венгрии.

Поставки э/э из Словакии и Венгрии осуществляются в «энергоостров Бурштынской ТЭС» и потребляются на украинском рынке.  Вместе с тем, одновременно с «энергоострова Бурштынской ТЭС» Украина экспортирует э/э в сопредельные страны: Венгрию, Польшу и Словакию. С запуском свободного рынка э/э, экспорт в Словакию минимизировался и сошел до уровня перетоков; при этом объемы экспорта в Венгрию изменились незначительно.

Кроме того, в октябре-ноябре Украина значительно увеличили экспорт э/э в Румынию (см. инфографику). При этом экспортные поставки электричества в Молдову осуществлялись примерно в равных объемах на протяжении всех 11 месяцев.

Географическое расположение и наличие мощных межгосударственных линий электропередачи ОЭС Украины позволяет обеспечивать значительный обмен электроэнергией с энергетическими системами стран Европейского Союза (Венгрии, Словакии, Польши и Румынии) и энергетическими системами стран СНГ (России, Беларуси, Молдовы).

Связь с энергосистемами других стран осуществляется через межгосударственные линии электропередачи «Укрэнерго». Это обеспечивает взаимовыгодный обмен электроэнергией, позволяет повысить надежность энергоснабжения потребителей и интеграцию рынков электроэнергии разных стран.

ОЭС Украины разделена на две части. Основная часть ОЭС Украины работает параллельно с энергообъединением стран СНГ и Балтии, а другая - «Остров Бурштынская ТЭС» - в составе объединения электроэнергетических систем континентальной Европы ENTSO-E.

«Укрэнерго» осуществляет передачу электроэнергии межгосударственными ЛЭП по следующим направлениям:

• с «Острова Бурштынской ТЭС» в Венгрию, Словакию, Румынию.

Величина мощности максимального допустимого экспорта - до 650 МВт.

- «Направленная передача» по ЛЭП 220кВ Добротворская ТЭС - Замость (Польша)

Величина мощности максимального допустимого экспорта - до 235 МВт.

- Молдавская энергосистема

Максимальная величина перетока между ОЭС Украины и ЕС Молдовы - до 700 МВт, но может ограничиваться к нулю.

• Республика Беларусь

Максимальная величина перетока между ОЭС Украины и ОЭС Беларуси - до 900 МВт.

• Российская Федерация

Максимальная величина перетока между ОЭС Украины и ЕЭС России - до 3000 МВт.

Тэги: электроэнергия, Укрэнерго, рынок электроэнергии, экспорт, импорт

Читайте также

Структура генерации и потребления электроэнергии в Украине
В феврале объем продаж электроэнергии на рынке «на сутки вперед» уменьшился
Производство электроэнергии в Украине: у ВИЭ значительный прирост