November prices for natural gas at the European market

 

Spot prices for natural gas increased by 32.0–48.2%, to 15.31–15.93 €/MWh during November at key European hubs, which affect pricing in the Ukrainian market. This was due to a seasonal factor, because, despite the relatively warm weather last month, the consumption of natural gas for heating purposes in the European Union has increased significantly.

So, on November 30, the spot natural gas market on the Powernext exchange ended with the following key quotations:

• at the Austrian Central European Gas Hub (CEGH) the price was 15.31 €/MWh compared to 11.60 €/MWh at the end of October;

• at the Dutch Title Transfer Facility (TTF) the price of gas rose to 15.42 €/MWh against 10.23 €/MWh a month earlier;

• at the German Net Connect Germany (NCG) - up to 15.59 €/MWh against 10.84 €/MWh on October 31;

• at the same time, at the German Gaspool Hub (GPL), the price of natural gas rose to 15.93 €/MWh from 10.75 €/MWh a month earlier.

At the same time, despite a significant November increase, gas prices in these European wholesale centers remain significantly lower than they were last year. So, natural gas quotations at NCG, CEGH, TTF and GPL hubs decreased by 35.6-38.0%, compared to November 30, 2018.

It was this factor, and not political decisions, that allowed the Ukrainian government to offer consumers to conclude contracts for the purchase of gas from January 1, 2020 at the so-called “insurance” price of about 7,000 UAH/1,000 m3 (including VAT, excluding transportation costs).

In particular, during December 2018 — February 2019 (the period that determined gas prices for industrial consumers in Ukraine in the first quarter of 2019), natural gas prices at European hubs were in the range of 17.85–24.10 €/MWh, which is 14.2–33.9% higher than prices as of November 30, 2019.

In addition to the seasonal factor and supply and demand levels, oil benchmarks are still the basis for pricing natural gas on the international markets. So, over the past 13 months, from the beginning of November 2018 to the beginning of December of the current year, prices for Brent crude oil fell by 17.01%, to $60.49/barr.

Tags: The Cabinet of Ministers, gas, heating season, Gas market

Read also

Figures of the gas sector of Ukraine (November 2019)
Dynamics of gas imports (January-October 2019)
Radiator thermostats and balancing valves will enable to reduce heating costs by 30%

Цены на природный газ на европейском рынке в ноябре

Спотовые цены на природный газ на ключевых европейских хабах, влияющих на ценообразование на украинском рынке, повысились в течение ноября на 32,0—48,2%, до 15,31—15,93 евро/МВт•ч. Это стало следствием сезонного фактора, поскольку, несмотря на сравнительно теплые погодные условия в прошлом месяце, потребление природного газа в целях обогрева в странах Европейского союза существенно возросло.

Так, 30 ноября спотовый рынок природного газа на бирже Powernext закончился следующими показателями ключевых котировок:

  • на австрийском Central European Gas Hub (CEGH) цена составила  15,31 евро/МВт•ч по сравнению с 11,60 евро/МВт•ч в конце октября;
  • на нидерландском хабе Title Transfer Facility (TTF) стоимость газа выросла до 15,42 евро/МВт•ч против 10,23 евро/МВт•ч месяцем ранее;
  • на немецком хабе Net Connect Germany (NCG) – до 15,59 евро/МВт•ч против 10,84 евро/МВт•ч 31 октября;
  • в то же время, на немецком Gaspool Hub (GPL) стоимость природного газа возросла до 15,93 евро/МВт•ч с 10,75 евро/МВт•ч месяцем ранее.

В то же время, несмотря на существенное ноябрьское повышение, цены на газ в этих европейских центрах оптовой торговли остаются заметно ниже, чем были в прошлом году. Так, по сравнению с 30 ноября 2018 года, котировки природного газа на хабах NCG, CEGH, TTF и GPL снизились на 35,6—38,0%.  

Именно этот фактор, а не политические решения, позволил правительству Украины предложить потребителям заключать договора на закупку газа с 1 января 2020 года по так называемой «страховой» цене в размере около 7 000 гривен/1 тыс. м3 (с НДС, без учета стоимости транспортировки).

В частности, в течение декабря 2018—февраля 2019 года (периода, который определял цены на газ для промышленных потребителей в первом квартале 2019 года) цены на природный газ на европейских хабах находились в диапазоне 17,85—24,10 евро/МВт•ч, что на 14,2—33,9% выше, чем цены по состоянию на 30 ноября 2019 года.

Основой для формирования цен на природный газ на международных рынках, помимо сезонного фактора и уровней спроса и предложения, по-прежнему являются котировки нефти эталонных сортов. Так, за последние 13 месяцев, с начала ноября 2018 года до начала декабря текущего года нефть марки Brent подешевела на 17,01%, до $60,49/барр.

Тэги: Кабмин, газ, отопительный сезон, Рынок газа

Читайте также

Показатели газовой отрасли Украины (ноябрь 2019 года)
Динамика импорта природного газа (январь-октябрь 2019)
Радиаторные терморегуляторы и балансировочные клапаны позволят уменьшить расходы на отопление на 30%