The results of 2018: gas industry

 

Ukrainian gas sector showed productivity in 2018 with a great amount of records and wins.

This year Ukraine:

  •  won against Gazprom  in the Stockholm arbitration court.

Thus, thanks to the victory, Naftogaz brought 2.56 billion dollars to the country. At the end of the year Ukraine actually received 2.1 billion dollars, Naftogaz plans to receive the remaining amount by arresting the assets of a Russian company in European countries.

  • imported 10.6 billion cubic meters of gas (24.8% less compared to 2017).

Counteractants of Ukraine in gas import questions became Slovakia (61% of the total volume), Hungary (32%) and Poland (7%).

  • produced 20.9 billion cubic meters of gas (0.3% more).

State-owned Ukrgazvydobuvannya is still the largest gas production company of Ukraine. It produced 15.4 billion cubic meters (which is the record high for 25 years). Smaller companies also forged ahead - Smart Energy increased production by 31% compared to last year, Ukrnaftoburinnya planned such an increase next year.

  • pumped into storage 9.8 billion cubic meters. m of gas (6.5% more).

Pumping into underground gas storage facilities is also a last year record. Over the past 6 years, Ukraine filled storage facilities to a record level (17.1 billion cubic meters) by the start of the heating season.

  • extracted from storages 10.6 billion cubic meters (65.6% more).

In 2018, there were a number of reasons that caused high gas extraction rates. Firstly, the winter period was quite long and cold. Secondly, Ukrtransgaz was forced to pump out gas from underground storage facilities to maintain the necessary pressure in gas pipelines for transit to Europe, which was caused by incorrect actions of Gazprom.

  • transited 86.27 billion cubic meters (7.2% less).

Transit volumes decreased by more than 6.5 billion cubic meters. Also the active phase of construction of the Nord Stream – 2 began in 2018, which could deprive Ukraine of the privileges of a major gas transit to Europe.

 2018 was also marked by important events in terms of the transparency of the gas sector. Oil and gas auctions were held for the first time for the right to develop fields; it was opened an access to some databases related to geological information; as well as many other legislative changes regarding gas production, thanks to which Ukraine hopes to attract foreign investors.

It is also important to note a moment of increasing gas prices for the population by 23.5% (up to 8.550 UAH/thousand cubic meters), which initiated the IMF and adopted the Ukrainian government. As a result, the price of heat energy from January 1, 2019 increased by an average of 18%.

The price of gas for industrial consumers in Ukraine was 9.019 UAH/thousand cubic meters in January 2018 and December closed the year with the price of 11.152 UAH/thousand cubic meters.

Read also

Gas reserves in European UGS
Gas production by companies
Ukrainian gas sector results (1st quarter of 2019)

Итоги 2018: газовая промышленность Украины

2018 год для газовой отрасли Украины стал продуктивным, наполненным большим количеством «рекордов» и «перемог».

В этом году Украина:

  • победила Газпром в арбитражном суде Стокгольма.

Таким образом, Нафтогаз благодаря победе принёс в страну 2.56 млрд долл. На конец года по факту Украина получила 2.1 млрд долл, остальную сумму Нафтогаз планирует получить, арестовывая активы российской компании в странах Европы.

  • импортировала 10.6 млрд куб. м газа (на 24.8% меньше, чем 2017 году).

Контрагентами Украины в вопросах импорта газа стали Словакия (61% от всего объёма), Венгрия (32%) и Польша (7%).

  • добыла 20.9 млрд куб. м газа (больше на 0.3%).

По прежнему крупнейшей газодобывающей компанией Украины остаётся государственная УГВ, которая добыла 15,4 млрд куб. м (что является рекордным показателем за 25 лет). Компании поменьше также не стояли на месте – Smart Energy нарастила добычу на 31% относительно прошлого года, Укрнафтобурение запланировало такой прирост уже на следующий год.

  • закачала в хранилищ 9.8 млрд куб. м газа (больше на 6.5%).

Закачка в ПХГ также является рекордной в прошлом году. За последние 6 лет Украина к началу отопительного сезона заполнила хранилища до рекордного показателя (17.1 млрд куб. м).

  • отобрала из хранилищ 10.6 млрд куб. м (больше на 65.6%).

В 2018 году существовал ряд причин, которые вызвали высокие показатели отбора газа. Во-первых, зимний период был достаточно длинным и холодным. Во-вторых, Укртрансгаз был вынужден подымать газ из ПХГ для поддержания необходимого давления в газопроводах для транзита в Европу, что было вызвано некорректными действиями Газпрома.

  • транзитировала 86.27 млрд куб. м (меньше на 7.2%).

Объёмы транзита снизились на более чем 6,5 млрд куб. м. Также в 2018 году началось активная фаза строительства «Северного потока – 2», который, в свою очередь, может лишить Украину привилегии крупного транзитера газа в Европу.

2018 год отметился и важными событиями по части прозрачности газодобывающей промышленности. Впервые были проведены нефтегазовые аукционы за право разрабатывать месторождения; открытие доступа к некоторым базам данных, касающихся геологической информации; а также многие другие законодательные изменения относительно сферы добычи газа, благодаря которым Украина надеется привлечь иностранных инвесторов.

Немаловажным в ушедшем году есть момент повышения цены на газ для населения на 23.5% (до 8 550  грн/тыс. куб. м), которое инициировало МВФ и приняло правительство Украины. Как следствие, повысилась и цена на тепловую энергию с 1 января 2019 года в среднем на 18%.
Цена газа для промышленных потребителей Украины была открыта в январе 2018 года отметкой в 9 019 грн/тыс. куб. м, а декабрь закрыл год ценой 11 152 грн/тыс. куб. м.

Читайте также

Показатели газового сектора Украины (август-2019)
Динамика стоимости газа на хабах Европы (январь-август 2019)
Динамика запасов газа в ПХГ (январь-август 2019)