Gas transit contract lowers prices in Europe

Spot prices for natural gas at key European hubs affecting pricing on the Ukrainian market declined during December by 18.8–20.6%, to 12.25–12.66 €/MWh. This was a consequence of the fact that the European Commission, Naftogaz and Gazprom agreed on the transit of Russian gas through Ukraine for the next five years.

Compromise agreements on gas transit are beneficial to all three parties: the Russian exporter (Gazprom), the Ukrainian transit country (the Ukrainian GTS Operator and Naftogaz, as the largest gas company) and numerous European consumers.

If the Ukrainian and Russian parties failed to reach an agreement and a contract for gas transit through Ukraine had not been signed since January 1, 2020, this would lead to a sharp increase in the cost of natural gas on the European market, which would result in gas prices energy in Europe in the short term would be a record for the past few years.

The losses of European consumers from the sharp cost of gas would be difficult to accurately estimate, but only in 2020 would they amount to billions of euros, Ukraine would lose transit revenues and the ability to purchase additional volumes of gas from the European direction due to the inability to buy inexpensive volumes and would have to raise prices for all categories of consumers. However, record highs over the past 10 years and more than sufficient gas reserves in underground storage facilities enabled Ukraine to calmly survive the current heating season in any scenario.

For Gazprom, the continuation of gas transit through Ukraine in 2020-2024 allowed to save the face as a reliable supplier and made it possible to avoid fines from European gas buyers in the amount of about €400 million per month.

In general, the settlement of the issue of gas transit was very beneficial to all three parties to international gas relations. Immediately after the news came about reaching an agreement in principle on the transit of Russian gas through Ukraine’s gas transmission system on December 23-24, gas prices in Europe began to decline sharply, and this downward price movement with slight upward adjustments continued until the end of last year.

So, on December 31, the spot natural gas market on the Powernext exchange ended with the following key quotations:

  • at the Austrian Central European Gas Hub (CEGH) the price was 12.56 €/MWh compared to 15.31 €/MWh at the end of November;
  • at the Dutch hub Title Transfer Facility (TTF) the cost of gas fell to 12.25 €/MWh against 15.42 €/MWh a month earlier;
  • at the German hub Net Connect Germany (NCG), natural gas prices fell to 12.66 €/MWh against 15.59 €/MWh on November 30;
  • at the same time, at the German Gaspool Hub (GPL), the price of natural gas decreased to 12.60 €/MWh from 15.93 €/MWh at the end of November.

Peak prices for natural gas in Europe over the past six months were observed in November, when two factors led to their growth: the uncertainty at the time with the issue of gas transit through Ukraine and the seasonal increase in consumption.

At the end of the year, the price of gas was at the same level that was observed in mid-July and early November, and in the first days of January European gas quotations continued to decline.

Tags: Gazprom, gas, Naftogaz, contracts, The European Commission, UGSF, gas transit, price, gas supplies

Read also

Energy consumption in Ukraine in February 2020
Energy Consumption in Ukraine in January 2020
Ukraine may reduce gas imports by five times in 15 years

Контракт на транзит газа привел к снижению цен в Европе

Цены на европейских газовых хабах начали резко снижаться в конце декабря

Спотовые цены на природный газ на ключевых европейских хабах, влияющих на ценообразование на украинском рынке, снизились в течение декабря на 18,8—20,6%, до 12,25—12,66 евро/МВт•ч. Это стало следствием того, что Еврокомиссия, «Нафтогаз» и «Газпром» договорились о транзите российского газа  через территорию Украины на следующие пять лет.

Компромиссные  соглашения о транзите газа выгодны всем трем сторонам: российскому экспортеру («Газпрому»), украинскому транзитеру («Оператору ГТС Украины» и «Нафтогазу», как крупнейшей газовой компании) и многочисленным европейским потребителям.

 В случае, если бы украинской и российской сторонам не удалось достичь договоренностей и контракт на транзит газа по территории Украины с 1 января 2020 года не был бы подписан, это привело бы к резкому росту стоимости природного газа на европейском рынке, из-за чего цены на энергоноситель в Европе в краткосрочной перспективе были бы рекордными за последние несколько лет.

Потери европейских потребителей от резкой стоимости газа было бы сложно точно оценить, но только в 2020 году они составили бы миллиарды евро, Украина потеряла бы доходы от транзита и возможности закупать дополнительные объемы газа с европейского направления из-за невозможности купить недорогие объемы и вынуждена была бы повысить цены для всех категорий потребителей. Однако, рекордно высокие за последние 10 лет и более, чем достаточные запасы газа в подземных хранилищах давали возможность Украине спокойно пережить текущий отопительный сезон при любом варианте развития событий.

Для «Газпрома» продолжение транзита газа через Украину в 2020—2024 годах позволило сохранить репутацию относительно надежного поставщика и дало возможность избежать штрафов со стороны европейских покупателей газа в размере около €400 млн/месяц.

В целом, урегулирование вопроса транзита газа было очень выгодно всем трем сторонам международных газовых отношений. Сразу же после поступления новостей о достижении принципиальной договоренности о транзите российского газа через ГТС Украины 23-24 декабря, цены на газ в Европе начали резко снижаться, и это движение цен вниз с небольшими корректировками вверх продолжилось до конца минувшего года.

Так, 31 декабря спотовый рынок природного газа на бирже Powernext закончился следующими показателями ключевых котировок:

  • на австрийском Central European Gas Hub (CEGH) цена составила 12,56 евро/МВт•ч по сравнению с 15,31 евро/МВт•ч в конце ноября;
  • на нидерландском хабе Title Transfer Facility (TTF) стоимость газа упала до 12,25 евро/МВт•ч против 15,42 евро/МВт•ч месяцем ранее;
  • на немецком хабе Net Connect Germany (NCG) цены на природный газ опустились до 12,66 евро/МВт•ч против 15,59 евро/МВт•ч 30 ноября;
  • в то же время, на немецком Gaspool Hub (GPL) стоимость природного газа уменьшилась до 12,60 евро/МВт•ч с 15,93 евро/МВт•ч в конце ноября.

Пиковые цены на природный газ в Европе за последние полгода наблюдались в ноябре, когда к их росту привело два фактора: неопределенность в то время с вопросом о транзите газа через территорию Украины и сезонный рост потребления.

В конце года стоимость газа была на том же уровне, который наблюдался в середине июля и в начале ноября, а в первые дни января европейские котировки газа продолжили снижаться. 

Тэги: Газпром, газ, Нафтогаз, контракты, ЕК, ПХГ, транзит газа, цена, поставки газа

Читайте также

Цена на газ для бытовых потребителей 2018-2020
Потребление энергоресурсов в Украине в феврале
Потребление энергоресурсов в Украине в январе 2020 года