Figures of the gas sector of Ukraine (November 2019)

From the first days of November, Ukraine began to consume natural gas located in underground gas storages (UGS) and until the beginning of December Ukrtransgaz raised 1,022.5 million cubic meters of gas. Traditionally, the season of pumping natural gas into underground storages ends on October 31, and its pumping out begins on November 1. This occurs as a result of a gradual decrease in ambient temperature and an increase in consumption by cities heating companies and private households.

Gas extraction from underground storages on November 1 began at the figure of 8.9 million cubic meters/day, and at the end of the month reached 48.7 million cubic meters/day. Peaks were observed on November 26 in the amount of 77.6 million cubic meters/day, and the weighted average energy consumption for November amounted to 34.1 million cubic meters/day.

At the same time, natural gas imports from Hungary, Poland and Slovakia decreased last month to 669 million cubic meters from 1,693.5 million cubic meters in October, the decline in purchases is 60.5% or 2.5 times. So, on October 31, Ukraine imported 49.2 million cubic meters/day, then November 30 is already only 17.5 million cubic meters. The average daily gas imports in November amounted to 22.3 million cubic meters, while in October it was at the level of 54.6 million cubic meters/day.

Throughout 2019, Ukrainian companies imported natural gas on a monthly basis in the following volumes (weighted average per day):

  • January - 7.99 million cubic meters/day;
  • February - 23.80 million cubic meters/day;
  • March - 20.51 million cubic meters/day;
  • April - 29.35 million cubic meters/day;
  • May - 49.87 million cubic meters/day;
  • June - 55.43 million cubic meters/day;
  • July - 63.04 million cubic meters/day;
  • August - 64.85 million cubic meters/day;
  • September - 66.69 million cubic meters/day;
  • October - 54.63 million cubic meters/day;
  • November - 22.30 million cubic meters/day.

Following 11 months of this year, gas imports amounted to 13.96 billion cubic meters, 41% more than the corresponding period last year. As previously reported, high volumes of gas imports were caused by Ukraine’s preparations for projected interruptions in product transit from January 1, 2020 against the backdrop of trilateral negotiations between Naftogaz, the European Commission, and Gazprom that have not yet been completed.

According to recent statements by Naftogaz executives, due to the maximum gas reserves in storage facilities accumulated this year over the past 10 years, Ukraine in the first quarter of 2020 may not import this energy source at all, which will help to pass the heating season quietly even if transit stops from Russia.

In November 2019, Ukrainian gas producers produced 1.68 billion cubic meters of natural gas (the weighted average was 55.9 million cubic meters/day, which is 1.5% more than in October). Thus, the average daily level of gas production in Ukraine in 2019 reached a minimum in September, after which it began to increase in October and November.

The dynamics of the average daily natural gas production in Ukraine in 2019:

  • January - 58.578 million cubic meters/day;
  • February - 58.704 million cubic meters/day;
  • March - 58.557 million cubic meters/day;
  • April - 58.037 million cubic meters/day;
  • May - 57.474 million cubic meters/day;
  • June - 56.456 million cubic meters/day;
  • July - 54.733 million cubic meters/day;
  • August - 54.652 million cubic meters/day;
  • September - 54.598 million cubic meters/day;
  • October - 55.110 million cubic meters/day;
  • November - 55.942 million cubic meters/day.

The total production for 11 months amounted to 18.86 billion cubic meters, which is 1.2% less than a year earlier.

Gas transit through Ukraine increased by 15.4% in November this year compared to the same period in 2018 and amounted to 8.2 billion cubic meters.Representatives of Naftogaz commented that Gazprom was trying to transport the maximum possible amounts of gas to Europe to increase its reserves in European underground storage facilities to profitably sale it in early 2020.

According to them, such a significant increase in transit volumes may indicate that the Russian company is ready to stop the transit of energy through Ukraine from January 1, 2020, which will inevitably lead to a sharp and strong increase in spot gas prices on the European market, and Gazprom will take advantage of this and sell its large gas reserves in Europe at the highest possible prices.

Gas transit dynamics for 2019:

  • January - 7.61 billion cubic meters;
  • February - 6.21 billion cubic meters;
  • March - 7.18 billion cubic meters;
  • April - 8.30 billion cubic meters;
  • May - 8.36 billion cubic meters;
  • June - 7.45 billion cubic meters;
  • July - 8.11 billion cubic meters;
  • August - 6.36 billion cubic meters;
  • September - 6.76 billion cubic meters;
  • October - 6.98 billion cubic meters;
  • November - 8.20 billion cubic meters.

Ukrtransgaz has transported 81.52 billion cubic meters of natural gas in a transit mode since the beginning of 2019.

Tags: Gazprom, gas, Naftogaz, Ukrtransgaz, Gas market

Read also

Energy consumption in Ukraine in February 2020
Energy Consumption in Ukraine in January 2020
Ukraine may reduce gas imports by five times in 15 years

Показатели газовой отрасли Украины (ноябрь 2019 года)

Украина с первых дней ноября начала потреблять природный газ, находящийся в подземных хранилищах газа (ПХГ) и до начала декабря «Укртрансгаз» поднял из-под земли 1 022,5 млн куб. м газа. Традиционно, сезон закачки природного газа в подземные хранилища заканчивается 31 октября, а с 1 ноября начинается его отбор. Это происходит в результате постепенного снижения температуры окружающего воздуха и увеличения потребления со стороны коммунальных теплоэнергетических предприятий (ТКЭ) и частных домовладений.

Отбор газа из ПХГ 1 ноября начался с отметки 8,9 млн куб. м/сутки, а на конец месяца достиг 48,7 млн куб. м/сутки. Пиковые значения наблюдались 26 ноября в размере 77,6 млн куб. м/сутки, а средневзвешенная величина отбора энергоносителя за ноябрь составила 34,1 млн куб. м/сутки.

Одновременно с этим импорт энергоносителя из  Венгрии, Польши и Словакии  сократился в минувшем месяце до 669 млн куб. м с 1 693,5 млн куб. м в октябре, снижение объемов закупки составляет 60,5% или в 2,5 раза. Так, если 31 октября Украина импортировала 49,2 млн куб. м/сутки, то 30 ноября уже всего 17,5 млн куб. м. Среднесуточный показатель импорта газа за ноябрь составил 22,3 млн куб. м, тогда как в октябре был на уровне 54,6 млн куб. м/сутки.

На протяжении всего 2019 года украинские компании импортировали природный газ в помесячном разрезе в следующих объемах (средневзвешенный показатель за сутки):

  • январь – 7,99 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • февраль – 23,80 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • март – 20,51 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • апрель – 29,35 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • май – 49,87 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • июнь – 55,43 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • июль – 63,04 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • август – 64,85 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • сентябрь – 66,69 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • октябрь – 54,63 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • ноябрь – 22,30 млн куб. м/сутки.

По итогам 11 месяцев этого года импорт газа составил 13,96 млрд куб. м, на 41% больше, чем за соответствующий период прошлого года. Как сообщалось ранее, высокие объемы импорта газа вызваны подготовкой Украины к прогнозируемым перебоям в транзите продукта с 1 января 2020 года на фоне пока не завершившихся трехсторонних переговоров между «Нафтогазом», Еврокомиссией и «Газпромом».

Согласно недавним заявлениям руководителей «Нафтогаза», благодаря накопленным в этом году максимальным запасам газа в хранилищах за последние 10 лет, Украина в первом квартале 2020 года может вообще не импортировать этот энергоноситель, что поможет спокойно пройти отопительный сезон даже в случае прекращения транзита из России.

По итогам ноября 2019 года украинские газодобывающие предприятия добыли 1,68 млрд куб. м природного газа (средневзвешенный показатель составил 55,9 млн куб. м/сутки, что на 1,5% больше, чем в октябре). Таким образом, среднесуточный уровень добычи газа в Украине в 2019 году достиг минимума в сентябре, после чего начал увеличиваться в октябре и ноябре.

Динамика среднесуточной добычи природного газа в Украине в 2019 году:

  • январь – 58,578 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • февраль – 58,704 млн куб. м/сутки;  
  • март – 58,557 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • апрель – 58,037 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • май – 57,474 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • июнь – 56,456 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • июль – 54,733 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • август – 54,652 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • сентябрь – 54,598 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • октябрь –   55,110 млн куб. м/сутки;
  • ноябрь – 55,942 млн куб. м/сутки.

 

Суммарный объем добычи за 11 месяцев составил 18,86 млрд куб. м, что на 1,2% меньше, чем годом ранее.

Транзит газа по территории Украины в ноябре этого года увеличился на 15,4% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом 2018 года и составил 8,2 млрд куб. м. Представители «Нафтогаза» комментировали, что «Газпром» старается транспортировать в Европу максимально возможные количества газа для увеличения своих запасов в европейских ПХГ с целью его выгодных продаж в начале 2020 года.

По их словам, столь значительный рост объемов транзита может свидетельствовать о том, что российская компания готова прекратить транзит энергоносителя по территории Украины с 1 января 2020 года, что неминуемо приведет к резкому и сильному росту спотовых цен на газ на европейском рынке, а «Газпром» воспользуется этим и продаст свои большие запасы газа в Европе по максимально высоким ценам.

Динамика транзита газа за 2019 год:

  • январь – 7,61 млрд куб. м;
  • февраль – 6,21 млрд куб. м;
  • март – 7,18 млрд куб. м;
  • апрель – 8,30 млрд куб. м;
  • май – 8,36 млрд куб. м;
  • июнь – 7,45 млрд куб. м;
  • июль – 8,11 млрд куб. м;
  • август – 6,36 млрд куб. м;
  • сентябрь – 6,76 млрд куб. м;
  • октябрь – 6,98 млрд куб. м;
  • ноябрь – 8,20 млрд куб. м.

Всего с начала 2019 года «Укртрансгаз» транспортировал в режиме транзита 81,52 млрд куб. м природного газа.  

Тэги: Газпром, газ, Нафтогаз, Укртрансгаз, Рынок газа

Читайте также

Запасы природного газа в странах Европы
Цена на газ для бытовых потребителей 2018-2020
Потребление энергоресурсов в Украине в феврале