Oil price dynamics amid a price war between OPEC and Russia

Over the past week, world oil quotations have experienced serious volatility. Last Friday, on March 6, OPEC and Russia were unable to agree to extend an agreement to limit oil production. Over the weekend, Saudi Arabia announced that it planned to increase its supply by 300,000 barrels per day, while reducing the official price for all customers. The situation was aggravated by a sharp decrease in fuel demand caused by restrictions on movement in China and northern Italy due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As a result, on Monday, March 9, immediately after the opening of markets, there was a massive collapse in prices. On Friday evening, according to Investing.com, May Brent futures were trading at $45.27 a barrel, and on Monday the price fell by 24.1% to $34.36 a barrel. The American WTI, in turn, fell in price by 24.6%, from $41.28 to $31.13 per barrel.

Overall, oil futures on the New York Stock Exchange fell  by 21% over the week. The last time such fluctuations were observed during the Persian Gulf War in 1991.

According to leading price agencies, an increase in oil demand, and respectively, an increase in prices, is possible no earlier than in the second half of the year. Hereto, the effect of coronavirus on the economy should weaken, and Russia and Saudi Arabia will find out who has a greater safety margin.

Tags: Gazprom, contracts, oil, hydrocarbon production, legislation, EU, USA, energy market, авиатопливо, добыча нефти, коронавирус, RF, foreign affairs, ОПЕК+, OPEC, negotiations, stocks, agreement, volumes, oil products, oil deliveries

Read also

LPG consumption accelerates
Ukrtransnafta increased oil flow volumes in 2019
Ukrtransnafta continues to increase oil pumping volumes

Динамика цен на нефть на фоне ценовой войны между ОПЕК и Россией

За последнюю неделю мировые котировки на нефть подверглись серьезной волатильности. В прошлую пятницу, 6 марта OPEC и Россия не смогли договориться о продлении соглашения об ограничении добычи нефти. На выходных Саудовская Аравия объявила, что планирует нарастить объемы поставок на 300 000 баррелей в сутки при одновременном снижении официальной цены для всех клиентов. Усугубило ситуацию резкое снижение спроса на топливо, вызванное ограничениями на передвижение в Китае и северной Италии в связи с пандемией коронавируса.

В результате, в понедельник, 9 марта, сразу после открытия рынков, произошел масштабный обвал цен. В пятницу вечером, по данным Investing.com майские фьючерсы на нефть марки Brent торговались по $45,27 за баррель, а в понедельник цена упала  на 24,1%, до $34,36 за баррель. Американская марка WTI, в свою очередь, подешевела на 24,6%, с $41,28 до $31,13 за баррель.

В целом, за неделю нефтяные фьючерсы на Нью-Йоркской бирже упали на 21%. Последний раз подобные колебания наблюдались во время войны в Персидском заливе в 1991 году.

По мнению ведущих ценовых агентств, рост спроса на нефть, соответственно и рост цен, возможен не ранее второго полугодия 2020 года. К этому моменту влияние коронавируса на экономику должно ослабнуть, а Россия и Саудовская Аравия выяснят, у кого запас прочности больше.

Тэги: Газпром, контракты, нефть, добыча углеводородов, законодательство, Евросоюз, США, энергорынок, авиатопливо, добыча нефти, коронавирус, РФ, международные отношения, ОПЕК+, ОПЕК, переговоры, запасы, договор, объемы, нефтепродукты, поставки нефти

Читайте также

Динамика цен на нефть в марте-июле 2020: рекорды падения
Потребление энергоресурсов в Украине в марте
Рост потребления сжиженного газа ускоряется