Oil prices in March-July 2020: record highs

In March, the price of oil fell to 18-year historical lows. The so-called “oil war” between the three major players in the global oil market of Saudi Arabia, Russia and the United States of America continued. The coronavirus pandemic in the world exacerbated the situation, significantly affecting the decline in activity of the world's leading economies.

On March 30, the price of May futures for West Texas Intermediate (WTI) fell by 5.85% - a barrel of WTI was trading for $20.32.

Oil recovered on March 31 after US President Donald Trump and Russian President Vladimir Putin agreed to stabilize energy markets.

On April 6, oil prices fell again after Saudi Arabia and Russia postponed a meeting where production cuts had to be discussed, which could partially reduce oversupply on world markets, as demand was falling due to the coronavirus pandemic.

On April 20, the price of US WTI oil has fallen below $15 for the first time since 1999. And on April 22, the cost of a barrel of Brent crude oil fell below $16.

On April 26, amid fears that a decline in production would not be able to offset the sharp decline in demand, the price of WTI and Brent oil was falling again. WTI futures for June at the New York Mercantile Exchange (NYMEX) decreased by more than 25% - to $12.69 per barrel. June futures for Brent on the London ICE Futures exchange by this time fell by 7.2% and were trading at $19.9 per barrel.

In May, the cost of Brent crude for July rose by 1.83% to $33.44, according to trading data on the London ICE. The price of July futures for WTI American crude oil rose by 2.91% to $30.38 per barrel.

On June 1, a month after the signing of the OPEC deal on the reduction of oil production, it became known that there is disagreement regarding the possible continuation of the agreement – between Saudi Arabia on the one hand and Russia on the other.

On June 6, OPEC+ countries agreed to extend the deal to reduce oil production by another month – until early August.

But concerns about slowing demand, an increase in coronavirus infections, record US oil reserves and forecasts that it will take years to recover from COVID-19 have again affected the decline in oil prices. On June 11, oil prices fell by more than 3%. Futures on WTI fell by 3.96% to $38 per barrel. Futures for Brent crude oil declined 3.55% to $40.25 per barrel.

Last week, July 6, it became known that September Brent futures rose in price on the London ICE Futures exchange by $0.31 (0.72%), to $43.11 per barrel.

August futures for WTI rose by this time in electronic trading on the New York Mercantile Exchange (NYMEX) by $0.29 (0.72%), to $40.53 per barrel. For the previous session, the contract fell by $0.83 (1%), to $40.24 per barrel. On Friday, the main trading on the NYMEX was not held due to the weekend in the United States. Over the past week, both contracts have risen in price by more than 4%.

At the end of July, the OPEC+ deal on a reduction in production by a record 9.7 million bpd expires; from August, the volume of reduction should be 7.7 million bpd. The next meeting of the OPEC+ JMMC is scheduled for July 15.

Tags: oil, USA, добыча нефти, RF, OPEC+, price, agreement, oil products, oil deliveries, Brent, WTI, Saudi Arabia

Read also

Energy consumption in Ukraine in March
Oil price dynamics amid a price war between OPEC and Russia
LPG consumption accelerates

Динамика цен на нефть в марте-июле 2020: рекорды падения

Цены на нефть

В марте цена на нефть упала до 18-летних исторических минимумов. Продолжилась так называемая «нефтяная война» между тремя основными игроками глобального нефтяного рынка Саудовской Аравией, Россией и Соединенными Штатами Америки.  Пандемия коронавируса в мире усугубила ситуацию, значительно повлияв на снижение активности ведущих экономик мира. 

30 марта цена на майские фьючерсы марки нефти West Texas Intermediate (WTI) обвалилась на 5,85% –  баррель WTI торговался за $20,32.

31 марта нефть восстановилась после того, как президент США Дональд Трамп и российский президент Владимир Путин договорились о стабилизации энергетических рынков.

6 апреля цены на нефть опять снизились после того, как Саудовская Аравия и Россия отложили встречу, где должно было обсуждаться сокращение производства, которые могут частично уменьшить избыточное предложение на мировых рынках, поскольку спрос из-за пандемии коронавируса падал.

20 апреля цена на американскую нефть WTI впервые с 1999 года упала ниже $15. А 22 апреля стоимость барреля нефти марки Brent опустилась ниже $16.

26 апреля на фоне опасений, что сокращение добычи не сможет компенсировать резкое сокращение спроса, цена на нефть WTI и Brent снова падает. Котировки фьючерсов на WTI на июнь на торгах Нью-Йоркской товарной биржи (NYMEX) снизились более чем на 25% - до $12,69 за баррель. Июньские фьючерсы на Brent на лондонской бирже ICE Futures к этому времени подешевели на 7,2% и торговались на уровне $19,9 за баррель.

В мае стоимость нефти марки Brent с поставкой в июле выросла на 1,83%, до $33,44, свидетельствуют данные торгов на Лондонской бирже ICE. Цена июльского фьючерса американской нефти марки WTI поднялась на 2,91%, до $30,38 за баррель.

1 июня, через месяц после подписания соглашения ОПЕК о сокращении добычи нефти, стало известно о том, что существует разногласие относительно возможного продолжения договора – между Саудовской Аравией с одной стороны и Россией с другой.

6 июня страны ОПЕК+ договорились о продлении сделки по сокращению добычи нефти еще на месяц – до начала августа.

Но опасения по поводу замедления спроса, увеличение случаев заражения коронавирусом, рекордные запасы нефти в США и прогнозы о том, что на восстановление после COVID-19 уйдут годы, снова повлияли на снижение цен на нефть. 11 июня цены на нефть снизились на более чем 3%. Фьючерсы на WTI упали на 3,96% до $38 за баррель. Фьючерсы на нефть марки Brent снизились на 3,55% до $40,25 за баррель.

На прошлой неделе сентябрьские фьючерсы на Brent дорожали на лондонской бирже ICE Futures на $0,31 (0,72%), до $43,11 за баррель. Августовские фьючерсы на WTI дорожали к этому моменту на электронных торгах Нью-Йоркской товарной биржи (NYMEX) на $0,29 (0,72%), до $40,53 за баррель. За предыдущую сессию контракт подешевел на $0,83 (1%), до $40,24 за баррель. В пятницу основные торги на NYMEX не проводились в связи с выходным днем в США. За минувшую неделю оба контракта подорожали более чем на 4%. 

В конце июля истекает срок действия договоренности ОПЕК+ о сокращении добычи на рекордные 9,7 млн б/с, с августа объем сокращения должен составить 7,7 млн б/с. Следующее заседание министерского мониторингового комитета ОПЕК+ (JMMC) запланировано на 15 июля.

Тэги: нефть, США, добыча нефти, РФ, ОПЕК+, цена, договор, нефтепродукты, поставки нефти, Brent, WTI, Саудовская Аравия

Читайте также

Потребление энергоресурсов в Украине в марте
Динамика цен на нефть на фоне ценовой войны между ОПЕК и Россией
Рост потребления сжиженного газа ускоряется