Oil price dynamics against the backdrop of tensions in the Middle East

Over the past week, world oil quotations have undergone serious volatility. As of the end of trading on September 16th, futures for benchmars, Brent and WTI, increased by 12.4% and 14.7%, respectively, compared to the previous trading session on September 13th (trading on the exchange is not held on weekends). Thus, prices reached levels of $67.68/barrel for Brent and $62.90/barrel for WTI, although they reached higher levels during trading. Such a sharp increase in quotations was triggered by drones attack on Saudi Aramco's facilities. As a result, Saudi Arabia lost capacities that produced about 5.7 million barrels of oil per day, which is 5% of world production.

But the panic in the market was restrained, and oil prices as well. As early as September 16th, US President Donald Trump ordered the allocation of additional oil from US reserves to stabilize the market. And on September 17th, Saudi Arabia announced the possibility of restoring previous volumes of oil production by the end of September.

Thus, oil prices began to decline. Between September 16th and 19th, the price of Brent fell by 6.4% to $63.33/barrel, and WTI fell by 7.5% to $58.19/barrel.

Also, it should be noted that this military attack was the largest in terms of the volume of lost oil capacities in the world. The second place is followed by the Iranian Revolution in 1978. Then, oil production in Iran decreased by 5.6 million barrels of oil per day.

Tags: oil, добыча нефти

Read also

Dynamics of oil transportation in Ukraine (August 2019)
Dynamics of oil and gas production in the US, Russia and Saudi Arabia
The dynamics of oil prices. US-China Trade Relations

Динамика цен на нефть на фоне напряженности на Ближнем Востоке

За последнюю неделю мировые котировки на нефть подверглись серьёзной волатильности. Так, по окончанию торгов 16 сентября фьючерсы эталонных марок нефти, Brent и WTI, выросли соответственно на 12,4% и 14,7% по сравнению с предыдущей торговой сессией 13го сентября (в выходные дни торги на бирже не проходят). Таким образом, цены достигли уровней 67,68 $/бар для Brent и 62,90 $/бар для WTI, хотя в течение торгов достигали более высоких отметок. Такое резкое повышение котировок было спровоцировано атакой беспилотников на объекты компании Saudi Aramco. В результате, Саудовская Аравия потеряла мощности, которые производили около 5,7 млн барр нефти в сутки, - что составляет 5% от мировой добычи.

Но, паника на рынке была сдержана, а с ней и цены на нефть. Уже 16го сентября президент США Дональд Трамп дал распоряжение о выделении дополнительных объемов нефти из американских резервов для стабилизации ситуации на рынке. А уже 17го сентября Саудовская Аравия заявила о возможности восстановления предыдущих объемов добычи нефти до конца сентября.

Таким образом, цены на нефть начали снижаться. В период с 16 по 19 сентября цена марки Brent упала на 6,4% - до 63,33 $/барр, а WTI - на 7,5% - до 58,19 $/барр.

Также, следует отметить, что это военное нападение стало самым масштабным по объемам потери нефтяных мощностей в мире. На втором месте в этом рейтинге  Иранская революция 1978 года. Тогда добыча нефти в Иране уменьшился на 5,6 млн барр нефти в сутки.

Тэги: нефть, добыча нефти

Читайте также

Динамика транспортировки нефти в Украине (август 2019)
Динамика добычи нефти и газа в США, РФ и Саудовской Аравии
Динамика цен на нефть. Торговые отношения США и Китая