Dynamics of oil and gas production in the US, Russia and Saudi Arabia

U.S. petroleum and natural gas production increased by 16% and by 12%, respectively, in 2018, and these totals combined established a new production record. The United States surpassed Russia in 2011 to become the world's largest producer of natural gas and surpassed Saudi Arabia in 2018 to become the world's largest producer of petroleum. Last year’s increase in the United States was one of the largest absolute petroleum and natural gas production increases from a single country in history.

For the United States and Russia, petroleum and natural gas production is almost evenly split; Saudi Arabia's production heavily favors petroleum. Petroleum production is composed of several types of liquid fuels, including crude oil and lease condensate, natural gas plant liquids (NGPLs), and bitumen. The United States produced 28.7 quadrillion British thermal units (quads) of petroleum in 2018, which was composed of 80% crude oil and condensate and 20% NGPLs.

U.S. crude oil production increased by 17% in 2018, setting a new record of nearly 11.0 million barrels per day (b/d), equivalent to 22.8 quadrillion British thermal units (Btu) in energy terms. Production in the Permian region of western Texas and eastern New Mexico contributed to most of the growth in U.S. crude oil production. The United States also produced 4.3 million b/d of NGPLs in 2018, equivalent to 5.8 quadrillion Btu.

U.S. dry natural gas production increased by 12% in 2018 to 28.5 billion cubic feet per day (Bcf/d), or 31.5 quadrillion Btu, reaching a new record high for the second year in a row. Ongoing growth in liquefied natural gas export capacity and the expanded ability to reach new markets have supported increases in U.S. natural gas production.

Russia’s crude oil and natural gas production also reached record levels in 2018, encouraged by increasing global demand. Russia exports most of the crude oil that it produces to European countries and to China. Since 2016, nearly 60% of Russia’s crude oil exports have gone to European member countries in the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Russia’s crude oil is also an important source of supply to China and neighboring countries.

Russia’s natural gas production increased by 7% in 2018, which exceeded the growth in exports. The Yamal liquefied natural gas (LNG) export facility, which loaded its first cargo in December 2017, can liquefy more than 16 million tons of natural gas annually and accounts for almost all of the recent growth in Russia’s LNG exports. Since 2000, more than 80% of Russia’s natural gas exports have been sent to Europe.

Saudi Arabia’s annual average crude oil production increased slightly in 2018, but it remained lower than in 2016, when Saudi Arabia’s crude oil output reached a record high. Saudi Arabia’s crude oil production reached an all-time monthly high in November 2018 before the December 2018 agreement by the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) to extend production cuts.

In addition to exporting and refining crude oil, Saudi Arabia consumes crude oil directly for electricity generation, which makes Saudi Arabian crude oil consumption highest in the summer when electricity demand for space cooling is relatively high. Since 2016, Saudi Arabia’s direct crude oil burn for electric power generation has decreased for a number of reasons, including demand reductions from a partial withdraw of power subsidies, greater use of residual fuel oil, and increased availability of domestic natural gas.

Crude oil exports account for about 60% of Saudi Arabia’s total economic output. China, along with Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, and the United States remain critical markets for Saudi Arabia’s petroleum exports.

Tags: gas, oil, добыча нефти

Read also

Dynamics of oil transportation in Ukraine (August 2019)
The dynamics of oil prices. US-China Trade Relations
Energy consumption in Ukraine

Динамика добычи нефти и газа в США, РФ и Саудовской Аравии

Добыча нефти и природного газа в США в 2018 году увеличилась на 16% и на 12%, соответственно, и эти показатели установили новый рекорд. США обогнали Россию в 2011 году, чтобы стать крупнейшим в мире производителем природного газа, и превзошли Саудовскую Аравию в 2018 году, следовательно, стали крупнейшим в мире производителем нефтепродуктов. Прошлогодний рост в Соединенных Штатах был одним из самых больших в истории абсолютных увеличений добычи нефти и природного газа.

В Соединенных Штатах и России добыча нефти и природного газа разделились практически поровну; в Саудовской Аравии добыча нефти существенно превосходит добычу других ископаемых. В 2018 году Соединенные Штаты произвели 28,7 квадриллиона британских тепловых единиц (БТЕ) нефтепродуктов, которые на 80% состояли из нефти и конденсата и на 20% из газоконденсата.

В 2018 году добыча нефти в США увеличилась на 17%, установив новый рекорд – почти 11,0 млн баррелей в сутки (б/с), что эквивалентно 22,8 квадриллиона британских тепловых единиц (БТЕ). Добыча в пермском регионе западного Техаса и восточной части Нью-Мексико способствовала большей части роста добычи нефти в США. В 2018 году Соединенные Штаты также произвели 4,3 млн бар/сутки газоконденсата, что эквивалентно 5,8 квадриллиона БТЕ.

Производство природного газа в США увеличилось на 12% до 28,5 млрд кубических футов в день, или 31,5 квадриллиона БТЕ в 2018 году, достигнув нового рекордного максимума второй год подряд. Продолжающийся рост экспортных мощностей сжиженного природного газа и расширение возможностей выхода на новые рынки способствовали увеличению добычи природного газа в США.

Добыча российской нефти и природного газа также достигла рекордных значений в 2018 году, чему способствовал рост мирового спроса. Россия экспортирует большую часть добываемой нефти в европейские страны и  Китай. С 2016 года почти 60% российского экспорта нефти направляется в европейские страны-члены Организации экономического сотрудничества и развития (ОЭСР). Нефть России также является важным источником поставок в Китай и соседние страны.

Добыча природного газа в России увеличилась на 7% в 2018 году, что превысило рост экспорта. Ямальский экспортный завод сжиженного природного газа (СПГ), который загрузил свою первую партию в декабре 2017 года, может приводить более 16 миллионов тонн природного газа в год в сжиженное состояние и составляет почти весь недавний рост российского экспорта СПГ. С 2000 года более 80% российского экспорта природного газа отправляется в Европу.

Среднегодовая добыча нефти в Саудовской Аравии незначительно увеличилась в 2018 году, но она осталась ниже, чем в 2016 году, когда достигла рекордно высокого уровня. Добыча нефти в Саудовской Аравии достигла рекордного месячного максимума в ноябре 2018 года до того, как в декабре 2018 года Организации стран-экспортеров нефти (ОПЕК) договорились о сокращении объемов добычи.

В дополнение к экспорту и переработке нефти, Саудовская Аравия потребляет её непосредственно для производства электроэнергии, что делает потребление нефти Саудовской Аравией самым высоким летом, когда спрос на электроэнергию для охлаждения помещений относительно высок. С 2016 года прямое сжигание нефти в Саудовской Аравии для выработки электроэнергии сократилось по ряду причин, включая сокращение спроса в результате частичного отказа от субсидий на электроэнергию, более широкого использования остаточного мазута и увеличение доступности отечественного природного газа.

Экспорт нефти составляет около 60% от общего объема производства Саудовской Аравии. Китай, наряду с Японией, Южной Кореей, Тайванем и Соединенными Штатами, остаются критическими важными рынками для экспорта Саудовской нефти.

Тэги: газ, нефть, добыча нефти

Читайте также

Динамика транспортировки нефти в Украине (10 месяцев 2019)
Динамика цен на нефть на фоне напряженности на Ближнем Востоке
Динамика транспортировки нефти в Украине (август 2019)