Major coal importers and import dynamics

The total volumes of coal imports in the world in 2018 are estimated at 1.424 million tons. This is by 3.6% more than in 2017. The major coal importers and supply dynamics are shown in the infographics. 5 countries account for more than 63% of global coal supplies. Shares of countries in world coal imports:

  • China – 20.7%;
  • India – 16.9%;
  • Japan – 13.0%;
  • Korea – 10.0%;
  • Germany – 3.1%.

According to the forecasts of Chinese analysts, in 2019 coal imports to China will increase to the level of 305 - 320 million tons, even after Beijing's statements to limit the use of coal. According to the results of 9 months of this year, supplies to China have already increased by 9.5%.

Over the past 8 years, coal imports to India have doubled. Coal generation capacities in India are 201 GW, which provides 56% of the total generation. Despite the global trend towards the closure of TPPs, the country's plans do not foresee their reduction. The main sources of coal to India are Indonesia (70%) and South Africa (15%).

Japanese coal generation occupies 1/3 of the total balance of electricity production. Japan receives 99% of the coal consumed through imports. The main sources of imports are Australia (61%), Indonesia (15%) and Russia (11%). It should be emphasized that in 2010, China and Japan had the same level of coal imports.

South Korea's imports structure is similar to Japan. Australia supplies 33%, Indonesia – 28%, Russia – 18%. Korea is now decommissioning TPPs over 30 years old. However, coal will play its role until it is economically feasible. The share of thermal power plants in the country's generation is 40%.

Germany holds the position of the largest importer of coal in Europe. However, in parallel with the development of renewable energy, coal imports are experiencing a downward trend. According to recent forecasts, imports in 2019 will decrease by another 10% - to 39 million tons. Until 2038, the country plans to abandon fossil fuels.

Tags: coal

Read also

Dynamics of coal accumulation in TPPs and CHPPs
Coal production in Ukraine (January-July 2019)
Coal mining in Ukraine for the first half of the year

Основные импортёры угля и динамика импорта

страны импортеры угля, динамика импорта угляОбщие потоки импорта угля в мире в 2018 году оцениваются в 1424 млн тонн. Это на 3,6% больше, чем в 2017 году. Главные страны-импортеры угля и динамика поставок изображенные на инфографике. Таким образом, совокупно на 5 стран приходится более 63% мировых поставок угля. Доли стран в мировом импорте угля:

  • Китай – 20,7%;
  • Индия – 16,9%;
  • Япония – 13,0%;
  • Корея – 10,0%;
  • Германия – 3,1%.

Согласно прогнозам китайских аналитиков, в 2019 году импорт угля в Китай увеличится  до уровня 305 - 320 млн тонн, даже после заявлений Пекина ограничить использование угля. По результатам 9 месяцев этого года поставки в Китай уже увеличились на 9,5%.

За последние 8 лет импорт угля в Индию увеличился вдвое. Мощности угольной генерации Индии составляют 201 ГВт, что обеспечивает 56% от общей генерации. Несмотря на общемировой тренд к закрытию угольных теплоэлектростанций (ТЭС), в планах страны их уменьшения не предвидится. Главными источниками поступления угля в Индию является Индонезия (70%) и ЮАР (15%).

В Японии угольная генерация занимает 1/3 часть в общем балансе производства электроэнергии. 99% от потребляемого угля Япония получает за счет импорта. Главные источники импорта – Австралия (61%), Индонезия (15%) и Россия (11%). Подчеркнем, что в 2010 году Китай и Япония имели одинаковый уровень импорта угля.

Структура импорта Южной Кореи похожа на японскую: Австралия поставляет 33%, Индонезия – 28%, Россия – 18%. Сейчас Корея выводит из эксплуатации ТЭС старше 30 лет. Однако, уголь будет играть свою роль до момента, пока это будет экономически целесообразным. Доля ТЭС в генерации страны составляет 40%.

Германия занимает позицию крупнейшего импортера угля в Европе. Однако, параллельно с развитием ВИЭ импорт угля переживает тенденцию к снижению. По последним прогнозам, импорт в 2019 уменьшится еще на 10% - до 39 млн тонн. До 2038 года страна планирует отказаться от ископаемого топлива.

Тэги: уголь

Читайте также

Запасы угля на ТЭС и ТЭЦ Украины (на 18.11.2019)
Динамика накопления угля на ТЕС и ТЕЦ Украины
Добыча рядового угля в Украине (январь-июль 2019)