USA parts with coal generation

Energy Information Administration (EIA) forecasts record low indicators of electricity production by coal combustion in the US in 2019. According to the data, in the overall structure of electricity production there will be 25% of objects working on coal. Thus, the combustion of 564 million tons of coal is forecasted (-73 million tons compared to 2018). If the forecast comes true, the share of coal generation in the US balance will reach the lowest indicator over the last 70 years.

The key factor, which affected the reduction of coal importance in the generation structure, is introducing of new natural gas production technologies and as the result, gas became cheaper and more accessible. Also important points are the aging of US coal parks, due to which the prime cost of electricity from coal is gradually increasing.

The trend of renewables also negatively affects the weight of coal as a resource for electricity generation. The reputation of coal as a negatively affecting the ecology element reducing the prime cost of "green" electricity, switching of the world's largest corporations to electricity from renewable sources – all these factors pushes coal out of the electricity generation market in the United States.

                                                        

Read also

The pace of coal generation capacities shutdown in the US
Coal imports in March 2019
Thermal coal production in Ukraine

США расстается с угольной генерацией

В 2019 году Energy Information Administration (EIA) прогнозирует рекордно низкие показатели генерации электроэнергии путём сжигания угля в Соединённых Штатах Америки. Данные говорят о том, что в общей структуре производства электроэнергии, объекты работающие на угле будут занимать менее 25%. Таким образом, прогнозируется сжигание 564 млн тонн угля (-73 млн тонн по отношению к 2018 году) для получения электроэнергии В случае подтверждения прогноза, доля угольной генерации в балансе США достигнет наиболее низкого показателя   за последние 70 лет.

Основным фактором, который повлиял на уменьшение роли угля в структуре генерации электроэнергии, является открытие новых технологий добычи природного газа, вследствие чего газ стал недорогим и более доступным ресурсом. Также немаловажными моментами является старение угольных парков США, по причине чего себестоимость электроэнергии из угля постепенно растёт. 

Тренд возобновляемых источников энергии также негативно влияет на весомость угля как, ресурса для генерации электроэнергии. Репутация угля, как отрицательно влияющего на экологию элемента, уменьшение себестоимости “зелёной” электроэнергии, переход крупнейших мировых корпораций на электроэнергию из возобновляемых источников — всё это факторы, которые вытесняют уголь с рынка генерации электроэнергии в США.

                                                        

Читайте также

Добыча угля в Украине за І полугодие 2019
Добыча рядового угля в Украине
Запасы угля в Украине