Ukrainian mines accelerated a decline in coal production

Thermal coal production decreased by 9.4% in 2019 in Ukraine

In 2019, Ukrainian miners mined 24,901 thousand tons of thermal coal used by thermal power plants and combined heat and power plants, which is 9.4% less than in January-December last year. The rate of decline in production accelerated last year, in 2018 the decrease in production rate was 2.2%, up to 27,477 thousand tons.

Private coal enterprises produced 22,182 thousand tons of fuel from the volume mined in 2019, or 7.2% less than in the 12 months of 2018, and state-owned – 2,719 thousand tons, 24.1% less than a year earlier .

The rate of decline in production accelerated somewhat in December, as in January-November the decrease in coal production was 9.3% compared to the same period last year. The vast majority of state mines remain unprofitable, despite the high level of electricity prices that thermal power plants sell at market prices.

Minister of Energy and Environmental Protection of Ukraine Olexiy Orzhel presented the Strategy of Energy Transition of Ukraine until 2050, which provides for a gradual phase-out of coal electricity generation by that time on January 22.

Many experts and energy market participants believe that the government should continue a long-term program to gradually reduce subsidies for unprofitable state-owned coal mining enterprises with the prospect of decommissioning them. In particular, one of the state coal mines, Krasnolimanska mine, is proposed to be privatized along with state heat generation managed by Centrenergo.

Meanwhile, on January 24, it became known that two state mines at the end of January could be disconnected from power supply due to record debts.

Dynamics of thermal coal production (total by private and state enterprises) in 2019:

  • January - 2,132.7 thousand tons (implementation of the ministerial plan by 88.7%);
  • February - 2,095 thousand tons (96.5%);
  • March - 2,309.4 thousand tons (105%);
  • April - 2 110.4 thousand tons (n.a.);
  • May - 2,109.1 thousand tons (89.8%);
  • June - 2,127.7 thousand tons (92.3%);
  • July - 2,032.9 thousand tons (79.2%);
  • August - 1,782.7 thousand tons (73.6%);
  • September - 1 979 thousand tons (77.6%);
  • October - 2 199.8 thousand tons (84.9%);
  • November - 2 199.4 thousand tons (85.2%);
  • December - 2,095 thousand tons (81.1%).

The leader in coal mining is Dnipropetrovsk region, where DTEK Pavlohradvuhillya produced 17,731 thousand tons of coal used in the energy sector (89.8% of the plan of the Ministry of Energy) for the 12 months of last year. Also the producer mined 476 thousand tons of coking coal (18 207 thousand tons in total). This total level is 10.3% lower than it was in 2018.

5,412 thousand tons of energy were produced in Donetsk region, or 2.2% less than a year earlier, and in Lviv region – 1,360 thousand tons (13.6% less than in 2018). In Lugansk region, the decline in coal production was the most significant and amounted to 33.1%, up to 329 thousand tons.

Volyn region is characterized by the lowest production figures, the production volume of which amounted to 70 thousand tons in 2019, which is 29.3% less than a year earlier.

Tags: coal mining, coal, coal mining

Read also

Ukrainian mines have slowed the pace of decline in coal production
Coal stocks in Ukraine are almost 2 times higher than a year ago
Thermal coal mining in Ukraine (10 months of 2019)

Снижение добычи угля в Украине ускорилось

Объемы добычи энергетического угля в Украине в 2019 году снизились на 9,4%.

Украинские шахтеры добыли в 2019 году 24 901 тыс. тонн энергетического угля, используемого тепловыми электростанциями и теплоэлектроцентралями, что на 9,4% меньше, чем в январе-декабре прошлого года. Темпы снижения добычи ускорились в минувшем году, поскольку в 2018 году уменьшение темпов добычи составило 2,2%, до 27 477 тыс. тонн.

Из добытого в 2019 году объема частные угольные предприятия извлекли 22 182 тыс. тонн топлива или на 7,2% меньше по сравнению с 12 месяцами 2018 года, а государственные —  2  719 тыс. тонн, на 24,1% меньше, чем годом ранее.

Темпы снижения добычи несколько ускорились в декабре, поскольку в январе-ноябре снижение добычи угля составляло 9,3% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года. Подавляющее большинство государственных шахт остаются убыточными, несмотря на высокий уровень цен на электроэнергию, которую тепловые электростанции продают по рыночным ценам.

Министр энергетики и защиты окружающей среды Украины Алексей Оржель 22 января презентовал стратегию «энергетического перехода» Украины до 2050 года, которая предусматривает постепенный отказ от угольной генерации электричества к тому времени.

Многие эксперты и участники энергетического рынка считают, что правительству стоит продолжать долгосрочную программу по постепенному снижению дотаций для убыточных государственных угледобывающих предприятий с перспективой выведения их из эксплуатации. В частности, одну из государственных угольных шахт, «Краснолиманскую», предлагают приватизировать вместе с государственной тепловой генерацией, управляемой «Центрэнерго».

Динамика добычи энергетического угля (суммарно частными и государственными предприятиями) в 2019 году:

  • январь  — 2 132,7 тыс. тонн (выполнение министерского плана на 88,7%);
  • февраль —  2 095 тыс. тонн (96,5%);
  • март —  2 309,4 тыс. тонн (105%);
  • апрель —  2 110,4 тыс. тонн (н.д.);
  • май —  2 109,1 тыс. тонн (89,8%);
  • июнь —  2 127,7 тыс. тонн (92,3%);
  • июль  —  2 032,9 тыс. тонн (79,2%);
  • август — 1 782,7 тыс. тонн (73,6%);
  • сентябрь —  1 979 тыс. тонн (77,6%);
  • октябрь —  2 199,8 тыс. тонн (84,9%);
  • ноябрь — 2 199,4 тыс. тонн (85,2%);
  • декабрь — 2 095 тыс. тонн (81,1%).

Лидером по добыче угля остается Днепропетровская область, где «ДТЭК Павлоградуголь» за 12 месяцев минувшего года добыл 17 731 тыс. тонн энергетического и 476 тыс. тонн коксующегося угля (вместе - 18 207 тыс. тонн или 89,8% от плана Минэкоэнерго). Этот уровень на 10,3% ниже, чем был в 2018 году.

В Донецкой области было добыто 5 412 тыс. тонн энергетического или на 2,2% меньше, чем годом ранее, а во Львовской – 1 360 тыс. тонн (на 13,6% меньше, чем в 2018 году). В Луганской области падение объемов добычи угля было наиболее значительным и составило 33,1%, до 329 тыс. тонн.

Самыми низкими показателями по добыче из пяти угледобывающих регионов характеризуется Волынская область, объем производства в которой составил в 2019 году 70 тыс. тонн, что на 29,3% меньше, чем было в предыдущем году. 

Тэги: угольная промышленность, уголь, добыча угля

Читайте также

Украинские шахты замедлили темпы снижения добычи угля
Запасы угля в Украине почти в 2 раза выше, чем год назад
Добыча энергетического угля в Украине (10 месяцев 2019)