Ukrainian mines have slowed the pace of decline in coal production

In Ukraine, thermal coal production decreased by 9.3% for 11 months of 2019.  

For 11 months of 2019, Ukrainian miners mined 22,807 thousand tons of thermal coal used by thermal power plants and combined heat and power plants, which is 9.3% less than in January-November of last year. Of this volume, private enterprises produced 20,248 thousand tons of fuel, or 7.4% less than for 11 months of 2018, and state-owned enterprises – 2,559 thousand tons, 22.2% less than a year earlier.

The rate of decline in production slowed in November, as in January-October the decrease in coal production amounted to 9.9% compared to the same period last year. The vast majority of state-owned mines remain unprofitable, despite the high level of thermal coal prices set by the National Energy and Utilities Regulatory Commission for thermal generation at international quotations of the European market.

As of mid-December, the government's debt to the miners of state mines for the payment of wages amounted to UAH 1.1 billion after the Cabinet of Ministers allocated UAH 313 million to pay off existing debts. Many experts and participants in the energy market believe that the government should continue a long-term program to gradually reduce subsidies for unprofitable state-owned coal mining enterprises with the prospect of decommissioning them.

The main thing is that the process should be predictable, consistent and gradual in the long run with the maximum involvement of the dismissed specialists in other sectors of the economy and the creation of conditions for the retraining of personnel. Thus, according to available information, new young employees are recruiting less and less for state-owned mines, instead providing the opportunity for miners working for them to refine them to the end of their working experience.

Meanwhile, the planned figure, formed by the Ministry of Energy and Environmental Protection, for the period January-November of this year amounted to 26,254 thousand tons. Thus, the implementation of the ministerial plan by all coal-mining enterprises of Ukraine last month totaled 86.9%. At the same time, in November 2019, thermal coal production amounted to almost 2,200 thousand tons, which is 7.3% less than in November 2018. At the same time, in October 2019, total coal production was 8.1% lower than in October 2018.

Dynamics of thermal coal production (in total by private and state enterprises) in 2019:

  • January – 2,132.7 thousand tons (implementation of the plan – 88.7%);
  • February – 2,095 thousand tons (96.5%);
  • March – 2,309.4 thousand tons (105%);
  • April – 2,110.4 thousand tons (n.a.);
  • May – 2,109.1 thousand tons (89.8%);
  • June – 2,127.7 thousand tons (92.3%);
  • July – 2,032.9 thousand tons (79.2%);
  • August – 1,782.7 thousand tons (73.6%);
  • September – 1,979 thousand tons (77.6%);
  • October – 2,199.8 thousand tons (84.9%);
  • November – 2,199.4 thousand tons (85.2).

The leader in coal mining is Dnipropetrovsk region, where DTEK Pavlogradvuhillya for the 11 months of this year produced 16,301 thousand tons of coal (90.2% of the plan), which is used in the energy sector.

4,870 thousand tons of thermal coal were mined in Donetsk region (the fulfillment of the ministerial plan – by 76.9%), in Lviv region – 1,257 thousand tons (103.5%). Volyn region is characterized by the lowest production indicators, the production volume of which amounted to 65.9 thousand tons (39% of the ministerial plan).

Tags: coal mining, NEURC, The Minystry of Energy and Coal Mining, coal, debt, coal mining, The National Energy and Utilities the Natuonal Regulatory Commission

Read also

The reserves of almost all types of fuel decreased during a year in Ukraine
Ukrainian mines accelerated a decline in coal production
Coal stocks in Ukraine are almost 2 times higher than a year ago

Украинские шахты замедлили темпы снижения добычи угля

Объемы добычи энергетического угля в Украине за 11 месяцев 2019 года снизились на 9,3%.

За 11 месяцев 2019 года украинские шахтеры добыли 22 807 тыс. тонн энергетического угля, используемого тепловыми электростанциями и теплоэлектроцентралями, что на  9,3% меньше, чем в январе-ноябре прошлого года. Из этого объема частные предприятия добыли 20 248 тыс. тонн топлива или на 7,4% меньше по сравнению с 11 месяцами 2018 года, а государственные —  2  559 тыс. тонн, на 22,2% меньше, чем годом ранее.

Темпы снижения добычи несколько замедлились в ноябре, поскольку в январе-октябре снижение добычи угля составило 9,9% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года. Подавляющее большинство государственных шахт остаются убыточными, несмотря на высокий уровень цен на энергетический уголь, устанавливаемый НКРЭКУ для тепловой генерации по международным котировкам европейского рынка.

По состоянию на середину декабря задолженность правительства перед шахтерами государственных шахт по выплате заработной платы составляла 1,1 млрд. гривен уже после того, как Кабинет министров направил 313 млн гривен на погашение имеющихся долгов. Многие эксперты и участники энергетического рынка считают, что правительству стоит продолжать долгосрочную программу по постепенному снижению дотаций для убыточных государственных угледобывающих предприятий с перспективой выведения их из эксплуатации.

Главное, что процесс должен быть предсказуемым, последовательным и постепенным в долгосрочной перспективе с максимальным вовлечением высвобождающихся специалистов в другие отрасли экономики и созданием условий для переквалификации кадров. Так, по имеющейся информации, на государственные шахты все меньше набирают новых молодых сотрудников, вместо этого предоставляя возможность работающим на них шахтерам доработать до конца трудового стажа.

Между тем, плановый показатель, формируемый Министерством энергетики и защиты окружающей среды, на период января-ноября текущего года составлял 26 254 тыс. тонн. Таким образом, выполнение министерского плана всеми угледобывающими предприятиями Украины в прошлом месяце суммарно составило 86,9%. При этом в ноябре 2019 добыча энергетического угля составила почти 2 200 тыс. тонн, что на 7,3% меньше, чем в ноябре 2018 года. При этом в октябре 2019 года общая добыча угля была на 8,1% ниже, чем в октябре 2018 года.

Динамика добычи энергетического угля (суммарно частными и государственными предприятиями) в 2019 году:

  • январь  — 2 132,7 тыс. тонн (выполнение плана — 88,7%);
  • февраль —  2 095 тыс. тонн (96,5%);
  • март —  2 309,4 тыс. тонн (105%);
  • апрель —  2 110,4 тыс. тонн (н.д.);
  • май —  2 109,1 тыс. тонн (89,8%);
  • июнь —  2 127,7 тыс. тонн (92,3%);
  • июль  —  2 032,9 тыс. тонн (79,2%);
  • август — 1 782,7 тыс. тонн (73,6%);
  • сентябрь —  1 979 тыс. тонн (77,6%);
  • октябрь —  2 199,8 тыс. тонн (84,9%);
  • ноябрь — 2 199,4 тыс. тонн (85,2).

Лидером по добыче угля остается Днепропетровская область, где «ДТЭК Павлоградуголь» за 11 месяцев этого года добыл 16 301 тыс. тонн угля (90,2% от плана), который используется в энергетике.

В Донецкой области было добыто 4 870 тыс. тонн энергетического угля (выполнение министерского плана – на 76,9%), во Львовской – 1 257 тыс. тонн (103,5%). Самыми низкими показателями по добыче характеризуется Волынская область, объем добычи в которой составил 65,9 тыс. тонн (39% от министерского плана). 

Тэги: угольная промышленность, НКРЭКУ, минэкоэнерго, уголь, долг, добыча угля, нацкомиссия по тарифам

Читайте также

За год в Украине уменьшились запасы почти всех видов топлива
Снижение добычи угля в Украине ускорилось
Запасы угля в Украине почти в 2 раза выше, чем год назад