Solar generation challenges in Great Britain

According to the Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis, the UK government is slowing its own solar power market. Innovation in the form of new market reforms, increasing the tax burden in the country leads to the establishment of the market as not attractive to investors, despite the worldwide trend to reduce the price of electricity from the sun. 

Two years ago, Britain provided the latest licenses to firms that intended to build ground solar farms. At the same time, the last auctions which were held to support solar projects took place two years earlier, in 2015.

Today, the government of the country has plans to increase the value added tax (VAT) for solar panels up to 20% (before this VAT was at a concessionary level – 5%). 

The second step, from the part of the national energy regulator Ofgem, will be the reformation of the household payment order for using the network. It is planned to set a single fee of £64 a year, in contrast to the cost per unit of electricity consumption that existed before. Thus, private SPPs, which are installed for its own needs, will experience an increase in electricity expenses (as the fixed fee will be higher than the previous level of electricity bills).  

So, in spite of the global trend to reduce atmospheric emissions by creating attractive alternatives for alternative generation, the UK reduces the attractiveness of solar power plants for both households and commercial enterprises.

Tags: renewable energy, solar energy

Read also

The development of renewables in the 2nd quarter of 2019
The place of renewables in the world generation of 2050.
Renewables electricity production in May 2019

Трудности солнечной генерации в Великобритании

По информации Institute for energy economics and financial analysis, правительство Великобритании затормаживает собственный рынок солнечной электроэнергии. Нововведения в виде новых реформ рынка, повышения налоговой нагрузки в стране приводит к становлению рынка как непривлекательного для инвесторов, несмотря на общемировую тенденцию к уменьшению стоимости электроэнергии из солнца.

Два года назад Великобритания предоставила последние лицензии фирмам, которые намеревались строить наземные солнечные фермы. В то же время, последние аукционы, которые проводились для поддержки проектов солнечной генерации, происходили еще двумя годами ранее, то есть в 2015 году.

На сегодняшний день, у правительства страны в планах повышение налога на добавленную стоимость (НДС) для солнечных панелей до 20% (до этого НДС оставался на льготном уровне — 5%).

Вторым шагом, уже со стороны национального энергетического регулятора Ofgem, будет реформирование порядка уплаты домохозяйств за использование сети. Планируется установить единый сбор в размере 64 фунтов стерлингов в год, в отличие от платы за единицу потребления электроэнергии, существовавшей ранее. Таким образом, частные СЭС, которые устанавливались для собственных нужд, будут ощущать на себе рост расходов на электроэнергию (поскольку фиксированная плата будет выше прежнего уровня счетов за электроэнергию).

То есть несмотря на мировую тенденцию по снижению выбросов в атмосферу за счет создания привлекательных условий для альтернативной генерации, Великобритания уменьшает привлекательность развития солнечных электростанций как для домохозяйств, так и для коммерческих предприятий.

Тэги: возобновляемые источники энергии, солнечная энергетика

Читайте также

Генерация электроэнергии возобновляемыми источниками в мае 2019
Производство накопителей энергии в Европе: текущее состояние и перспективы
Генерации электроэнергии из ВИЭ в апреле 2019