Six Danish cities will switch to electric transport

Denmark's six largest cities will buy exclusively electric and hydrogen city buses from 2021, Ecotown reports.

Copenhagen, Aarhus, Odense, Aalborg, Vejle and Frederiksberg signed a climate cooperation agreement with the Ministry of Transport.

According to the document, cities now have the right to buy only environmentally friendly technology. Denmark has 3,330 city buses, about 800 of which travel on the streets of the aforementioned six municipalities. Municipalities expect to become an example for other regions of the country.

The full transition is expected to take about 10 years.

Earlier it was reported that Germany launched hydrogen buses that get energy from garbage.

Tags: contracts, renewable energy, legislation, electricity, EU, Top management, feed-in tariff, ВИЭ, investments, agreement, hydrogen technologies, ecology, decarbonisation, renewable transport, electricity consumption

Read also

China plans to be carbon neutral by 2060
Solar power plants will be built on a former military base in France
Ukraine and Denmark discussed the prospects for the implementation of renewable energy and energy efficiency projects